@Google + safe for #EdTech classroom use?

Standard

Today Google announced another attempt to inhabit the social networking world with Google +. I don’t think this is to be confused with Google +1 (out since March) which allows users to like sites so that when their friends (presumably those in their contacts list) visit the same site, they see that it has been given the stamp of approval by a friend. Google +1 is really cool irrespective of the significance that Google + ( no ’1′) may or may not have for the EdTech world.

I am hopeful for two reasons. One, I loved Google wave and tried to rope in my friends, but they had already been claimed by Facebook. Two, it appears, based on this NYT review, that you will better be able to manage subgroups of your contacts than you can right now on FB. This has been a problem for me on FB and was the inspiration that gave birth to this WordPress Blog. I couldn’t keep my FB EdTech group separate from my list of all friends when tweeting. My mom doesn’t care about Google + or anything else EdTech related. She just wants to see staged photos of the kids. And I certainly do not want my high school students seeing pictures of me changing out of my wetsuit and inadvertently showing the world a big white moon that my younger brothers tag on FB.

Perhaps Google might also be a bit more careful about protecting our personal information. Here’s to hoping.

16 thoughts on “@Google + safe for #EdTech classroom use?

  1. I do agree with every single thing that is posted on this
    website. I need to say we do have the exact
    same ideas pertaining to this idea and I am grateful I am
    not the only one. Keep up the good work!

  2. Immediately after browsing this post I have to say that the author did
    a lot of study to summarize the topic a bit more. All the necessary information is
    laid out and is submitted very well. I must say this is one of the most insightful article
    Ive read so far

  3. I do go along with every single thing that is posted on this blog.
    I really should say we do have the exact same insights in regards to this point and I am
    relieved I am not the only one. Great work!

  4. Passing by your website once more and I have to say you still have your touch!

    This article describes everything, I don’t have to pay a visit to other people’s blog to understand it more.

    You said everything I want to know. Thank you!

What do you have to say?

